All speakers
John Erik




University of Oslo, Oslo
John Erik Fossum is Professor of Political Science at ARENA Centre for European Studies, University of Oslo. He was formerly Professor at the University of Bergen. He was Visiting Professor at ACCESS Europe, A Jean Monnet Centre of Excellence located in Amsterdam 2015; he has been visiting professor at the University of Copenhagen; at the Toronto Munch Centre; at the Institute for European Affairs, Dublin; at the McGill Centre for the Study of Canada; and at UBC. He has taught graduate (MA and PhD) courses in Sydney Australia, in Dublin, in Bratislava, in Luzern and in Bergen and Oslo.
He has (co)coordinated a number of research projects, including EU-funded Citizenship and Democratic Legitimacy (CIDEL: 2002-5) and Reconstituting Democracy in Europe (RECON:2007-11). He was Member of the Steering Committee of the ESF-funded research networking programme “Responding to Complex Diversity in Europe and Canada” (RECODE). He is president of ECSA Norway and obtained a Jean Monnet Action, Lifelong Learning Programme. He is vice-president of the Nordic Association for Canadian Studies (NACS). He has organised well over 20 conferences on intercultural understanding and multiculturalism, generally involving the EU and Canada. He has also organised numerous workshops on questions of democracy and constitutionalism, in addition to attending at least 100 conferences/workshops.
His main fields of interests include political theory, democracy and constitutionalism in the EU and Canada, Europeanisation and transformation of the nation state. He has published 14 co-authored and co-edited books and numerous articles, book chapters and reports. Recent publications include The Constitution’s Gift: A Constitutional Theory for a Democratic European Union (co-authored with Agustín José Menéndez) (2011), Practices of Interparliamentary Coordination in International Politics (co-edited with Ben Crum) (2013), and The European Union’s Non-members: Independence Under Hegemony? (co-edited with Erik O. Eriksen)(2015).